Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Ladders as bridges

with 3 comments

Monday-April 25

I’ve got a little bit of time here to provide details on our trek through the Khumbu Icefall. I learned that we made very good time (about 5.5 hours give or take). The guides say this can be attributed, in part, to the acclimatizing we did on Mt. Lobuche.  It also goes to show how conditioning, good health and an optimistic attitude play into this kind of work.

I don’t mind working on ladders and certainly heights don’t get to me. However, when you see 4 very long aluminum ladders lashed together end to end,  you have to have confidence in the sherpas who chose the route and anchored the ladders.

Primitive Escalator on Everest

I’m reminded that everything here is not immobile just because it’s all frozen solid. The icefall is part of a glacier and its physical characteristics change, even slightly. A small change in the icefall can mean another section of ladder needs to be added or even moved. The walls, pathways and crevasses move all sorts of ways. Safety can’t be overstated.

New meaning to "walking the plank"

We’re getting ready for the next trek up after we recharge and rest up a little bit. I’ll get fitted for my oxygen gear, essentially the mask, which has to fit properly for obvious reasons.  You’d be amazed at the amount of gear the sherpas carry up here, including these O2 tanks.  Overall, I’m doing really well and holding up to the elements.

Written by mmsummits7

April 25, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Posted in Mountaineering

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So ignore my last comment. And yes those ladders lashed together look scary.

    Karen Hirata

    April 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

  2. Happy Birthday Mikey!!!!

    Liz

    April 26, 2011 at 1:13 pm

  3. Whoa. I think I have altitude sickness just looking at the pictures. I’m so glad you’re feeling better and adjusting well. I am amazed at your courage.

    lindasteller

    April 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm


Leave a Reply

