Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Earthquakes before Base Camp

with 8 comments

Sunday–April 17

I spent an additional night in Pheroche just to give my body extra time to beat back this cold.  I think it helped as the congestion is clearing up though I wish at a much faster rate. It’s good to be at Everest Base Camp now; the My Spot Locator shows just how far we’ve come. It also shows how much further we need to go!

Have to tell you that my last night in Pheroche was a little unsettling. I was resting in a building made entirely of stone, and a pretty strong earthquake that you can hear and feel got my attention…..four times! Yes, 4 really good shakes. There aren’t any building codes, by the way. Made me wonder about the ladders and ropes in the icefall in terms of possible rock slides, avalanches or major shifts in the ice.

I missed the Puja (special blessing ceremony), but plan on attending another in a couple of days with other climbers.

The Khumbu Icefall

The icefall is what stands between BC and Camp 1 and will be an extreme test for everyone. I’ll be ready.

Written by mmsummits7

April 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Posted in Mountaineering

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Mike, We know you will be ready!! Glad you are feeling better, stay safe!!! Make sure you make it to the Puja! And by the way Young asks about you everyday too!! lp 🙂

    Liz

    April 19, 2011 at 2:48 pm

  2. greetings and best wishes for your climb. Stay warm! Karen

    Karen Wilson

    April 20, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    • Thanks, Karen. Tell Trevor to stop slacking over there. Hello to Ken also….

      mmsummits7

      April 24, 2011 at 1:10 pm

  3. Hi Mike, I’m Linda, also a cousin of your Mom’s, and I’m in Oregon. I am amazed at your adventure and hope you’re feeling so much better now. Surely there must be some sort of fowl there that could be boiled in a pot over some yak dung? Got to get the cough gone and those lungs in shape for your climb. Wishing you all the best.

    lindasteller

    April 21, 2011 at 6:15 am

  4. Saw there was heavy wind. Hope all is well. Happy Easter. Will be thinking of you. Sue and Dad

    Sue and Bill Matty

    April 22, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    • Heavy winds yes. Nothing too unusual. No colored Easter eggs here….

      mmsummits7

      April 24, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  5. Michael,
    I keep checking on your progress as you continue your journey to the top of Everest. It is an amazing adventure, and I am proud to say that I know you and can call you my friend. I am confident that you will be successful in reaching your goal and returning to us with stories and photos that will amaze and awe all of us that know you. You are an amazing person, and an inspiration to all! Hang in there, and always remember that old saying from India, “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. Don’t look at the whole elephant, just take that next bite.”

    Wishing you the very best now and always, and may you continue to be blessed – for you are blessed with a special kindness and respect for life and all things living. – Eric Bascom

    Eric Bascom

    April 24, 2011 at 3:42 am


Leave a Reply

