Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Minor setback

with 10 comments

Thursday–April 14

I wish someone would invent a cure for the common cold. That’s my setback right now.  Went from our BC (Base Camp) to Mt. Lobuche and worked up to the BC on Lobuche.  Somehow I developed this congestion and all of a sudden a nasty cough followed.  I would’ve summitted Mt. Lobuche, but was concerned about this cough that wouldn’t let up, so I did the smart thing and headed down.  Regrouped at BC and headed down, off the mountain, sort of, (at this point, everthing is on a mountain because of elevation!).

I’m recuperating in the village of Pheroche, probably for the next couple of days. At altitude, your body deteriorates because it takes so much work to recover. Think of all the calories that you need just to maintain body temp. To burn all those calories, you need oxygen and you have to descend to get more of that.

You might feel sad that I didn’t summit Mt. Lobuche, but I didn’t come all this way to do that. I think of these peaks as stepping stones to the biggie. I need to be in shape for Mt. Everest.

Gotta find some chicken soup.

Written by mmsummits7

April 14, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Posted in Mountaineering

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hope you feel better Mikey, sorry to hear about your cold. I’ll have everyone here start working on a cure ASAP.

    Tom

    April 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    • Tom–air freight that cure once you have it. I’ll have Top Yak ready to hoof it up to BC

      mmsummits7

      April 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm

  2. So glad you are being careful. Your body has limits even if your will doesn’t.

    Bill and Sue Matty

    April 14, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • No other choice though it’s amazing how strong or stubborn the mind can really be. Better safe than sorry.

      mmsummits7

      April 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  3. Mike,

    How are you feeling? I can imagine that recovery from just the common cold up there could be quite a lengthy process. Hope you are feeling better.

    Karen Hirata

    April 17, 2011 at 2:33 am

    • Thank you. Not quite 100% but feeling much better than a couple of days ago. The congestion feels less so I think I’m on the road back to recovery.

      mmsummits7

      April 18, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  4. Michael, My sister, Linda Steller, found your blog. We sent link to cousin, Jon Boryscewicz (I must be misspelling the surname), who just visited us on Cape Cod to check out cranberry industry. Our thoughts and prayers are with you. The entire congregation of the United Methodist Church, Osterville, MA, are praying for your success in climbing Everest. I am reading INTO THIN AIR. All the best! God bless, Babs Steller

    Babs Steller

    April 17, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    • Thanks for the well wishes, Babs! Yes, the air really feels thin up here. You’ll have to save some cranberry jam for me. I may have to try some of that on muffins or a scone when I get back. Please extend my thanks to your congregation for all the well wishes and prayers. I appreciate the thoughts.

      mmsummits7

      April 18, 2011 at 1:03 pm

  5. Feel better Mike. We’re all cheering you on back here in Longmeadow.

    Lee

    April 23, 2011 at 2:13 pm


Leave a Reply

