Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to Base Camp

with 4 comments

Sunday–April 10

Doing well at base camp though I remind myself to take it easy. We can really feel the altitude. From my tent to the dining tent is a 20-foot walk, but that walk requires a rest stop. I’m making sure to listen to my body as acclimatization varies from person to person. The body works to adjust to the environment and in this case, the creation of more red blood cells among other things. This site better explains what happens at altitude.

Speaking of dining, the sherpa cooks are great! Breakfast this morning was boiled eggs, bacon and toast.  Last night we had a decent meal of  buffalo, mixed veggies, boiled potatoes and noodles. How ’bout that?  Not bad at all!?

There’s a lot of  “rumbling” here and it happens day and night, causing rock slides and avalanches. When the sun hits a wall, it starts and continues throughout the night. It’s just once the sun sets, there are fewer rumblings.

The icefalls here are huge and imposing. Icefalls are a part or section of a glacier that moves faster and they create high walls and deep crevasses. Icefalls are technically demanding and dangerous. We leave at 3 am to begin our icefall climb. An early start means that the ice stays frozen solid. The first time through takes some 8-9 hours, again, for further acclimatization. The Khumbu Icefall is at the 18,000 foot level [5,000 meters or so].

I’ll head down to Lobuche village today and climb a peak of the same name.

Lobuche Peak

This is all part of the acclimatization process.  We get to gain some altitude but don’t have to do it through the icefall. Too risky. That peak is at 20,000 feet [6,100 meters].

I’ll be out of touch for a few days, but you can visit the IMG site to check on updates. The link to that site is on the right side under PAGES.

I do check on the markets periodically. Seems to be doing very well despite my absence. Maybe I should climb more! LOL.  When you think about it, to be able to get online, even check e-mails, makes it all pretty amazing for all of us here at Everest base camp. I’m told that Sir Hillary had it pretty well too…he had over 400 Sherpas to assist his effort on this mountain!

Written by mmsummits7

April 11, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m getting hypoxia just thinking about how high up you are. Go slow!

    Karen Hirata

    April 11, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    • In funny kind of way, you have to go “slow” in order not to slow down. Overexertion is not a good thing here as dehydration rapidly follows. I’m doing fine…thanks for the reminder!

      mmsummits7

      April 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm

  2. Hi Mike, I’m your Mom’s cousin living in Oregon and I just want to say “you rock”! Not sure that you ever hear about your distant relatives on the west coast but Aunt Ethel and Aunt Irene keep us current on what’s happening back east and what you have been accomplishing. We’re very excited for you. Keep on the good work! Ginny

    Ginny Steller

    April 12, 2011 at 12:55 am

    • Hello from the other side of the world! Thanks for stopping by my post. I’ll have to get out west someday as I’d like to visit Mt. Hood and Mt. Rainier. Sorry that I haven’t kept in touch, but have been involved with this quest, as you now know. I’m beating back a chest cold and homemade soup would be good about now! Too bad that can’t be wired over and all I have to do is add hot water!

      mmsummits7

      April 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm


Leave a Reply

