Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Wonder if I can carry-on my ice axe….?

with 4 comments

 

Serious gear, serious climb!

Packed up and ready to go!  Total gear weighs in about 150 pounds…..2 big -40F  sleeping bags (one for base camp, another for high camp),  down suits, multiple pairs of boots,  gloves,  6 pounds of candy, etc. etc. etc.!!  All of this stuffed into 3 big duffels–2 go directly to base camp–1 stays with me on the trek into Base Camp (it’s a good hike into Base Camp at 18,000 feet over 10 days, 45 miles).  By the way, Base Camp is taller than anything else in the U.S.A.

One nice thing about Everest is that the yaks carry our gear instead of us!  In addition, they will also be bringing up fresh supplies of food on a regular basis.

That’s about it for now,,,,,,,cuz

I THINK I’M GOING TO KATAMANDU!!!

Written by mmsummits7

March 23, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Posted in Mountaineering

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I plan to follow your blog and climb with you. Good Luck!

    Margo

    March 24, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  2. I am so excited to be following you on your blog, Mike. Go man!

    In case you don’t remember me, I am Sue’s friend and we met at dinner.

    Wendy Davenson

    March 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm


Leave a Reply

