Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to the climb

leave a comment »

Denali  June 2008

I leave in 10 days, just finished my last training hike up Mt Washington over the weekend.  I accomplished this final trip in exactly 5 hours, a fantastic time. I am feeling ready.  Really prepped and ready.  After many many hours of training and preparation, my quads, hamstrings and calves are in tip top shape.

International  Mountain Guides, the outfit I am climbing Everest with, also has a website where you can follow along on trip reports http://www.mountainguides.com/everest-south11.shtml Their recent posting is titled “Preparation Meets Opportunity” which is a pretty apt description of where I feel I am at….all the preparation I have been going through is ready to meet the opportunity to climb Everest.

A little on the training…..I have been going to Attain Performance typically 4x/week, doing evening training at home, and climbing Mt Washington (in New Hampshire) virtually every weekend since December.  For those unfamiliar with Washington, it is “home of the world’s worst weather’ with 230+ mph winds recorded there.  While I did not encounter these, I have hiked numerous times in 60+ mph winds this winter, with negative degree temps (resulting in -40 to -50 wind chills).  It is a great place to train, and figure out any gear issues.

More on gear later…….

Written by mmsummits7

March 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Posted in Mountaineering

Leave a Reply

