Mike Matty's Mt. Everest Journal

Just another WordPress.com site

Safe at EBC

with 9 comments

Sunday–May 15

Back at Everest Base Camp. All team members are in good shape; 4 out of 5 of us [Hybrid Team] made it to the top on Friday the 13th. There aren’t enough words to describe all that has happened here.  I was fortunate to be the first [on the expedition team] to arrive at the summit and had about 10 minutes of the place to myself.

The weather has since turned nasty. Winds have picked up and IMG team leaders instructed those at the higher camps to descend.  As I’ve shared with many of you, the job’s only half done when you’ve made it to the summit–or as far as you can–because you must get down! It’s incredible that I summitted, but more importantly, I am safe. We were fortunate to make it because conditions were deteriorating quickly. It felt like we snuck in just in time. I don’t think there will be any summit attempts the next few days.

I feel, and probably look a lot like a skinny, 17-year old track star. The mountain demands so much from our bodies yet I’m also amazed at how strong the will to live is. I’ll have more to share about this subject along with other tales of extreme cold, the thin air, frostbite and even frozen corneas.

I’ll need another 10-12 days to not only pack my gear, but to recharge myself.  I’m sure there’s a nice beer waiting for me at Kathmandu!  I might need a couple seeing that I’ll be ahead of the yak carrying my gear.

Finally, many thanks to all who followed and shared this journey with me. Your comments and encouragement have kept me company throughout this quest.

Written by mmsummits7

May 16, 2011 at 2:22 am

Posted in Mountaineering

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So glad to hear you’re safe. Have a couple of beers and find some good food to eat. Recharge, you’ve more than earned it.

    Linda S

    May 16, 2011 at 5:58 am

  2. Mike you are amazing…..no words can say how your spirit shines for all of us. Can’t wait to hear the story. So many challanges. You surmounted them all and we are so happy for you. Love Sue and Dad

    Sue and Bill Matty

    May 16, 2011 at 11:28 am

  3. Congratulations Mike on a tremendous accomplishment. Take a deep breath (if that’s even possible at that elevation) and enjoy the rest of the trip. You did it !

    Tim Suffish

    May 16, 2011 at 2:19 pm

  4. Just realized that I could write comments on here! Mike,congratulations on your incredible feat! We’ve all been pulling for you here at ATTAIN and couldn’t be happier for you! Now you can write a book about your endeavors!

    Trevor Dorian

    May 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  5. How come it is not surprising to hear you made it up first out of your team??? You probably threw an extra weight vest on too!! Must have been incredible up there!! Cannot wait to hear your stories!! Congrats again, Mike!

    Becky

    May 16, 2011 at 10:52 pm

  6. This is so amazing ! I can’t describe how happy I am that you are safe and you achieved your dream! I can’t wait to hear all about your trip. Have a safe trip home!!

    Emmie

    May 17, 2011 at 2:00 am

  7. Mike, Congratulations! This is such a great acccomplishment and I have bragged to a number of my friends about you. Have a safe trip home, Your cousin, Nancy

    My mother also asked that I pass along this info to you: Aunt Irene sends you job well done good luck on descent and enjoyed pictures and reading your comments. Safe trip home. LOVE From Me&Gram

    Nancy Albright

    May 17, 2011 at 2:35 am

  8. Cheese balls waiting… as promised!!! Congrats Mike!!

    Liz Pelkey

    May 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm

  9. Thanks so very much for taking us along on this “high time” in your life… We marveled from our cozy homes at all your steps to the summit. We feel educated and elevated by all the stories and photos. Take good care, continued safe travel. Fondly, Allan and Patty Graves Newtown, CT

    Pattu and Allan Fraves

    May 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

